Artist Index

we've featured dozens of amazing visual artists in Smartish Pace over the 20+ years and one day soon all of their information will be on this new silly baby website page of ours but until then well it's just this explanation of why there is no relevant content on this page

Smartish Pace

Nobel Prize in Literature

By pwsadmin | October 8, 2008

October 8th, 2008 Horace Engdahl’s comments about American literature (and Dr. Robert Gallo’s related snub as a non-recepient of the Prize in Medicine) suggests to us that a smart reader-of-literature…

Smartish Pace

Hayden Carruth dies at 87

By pwsadmin | September 29, 2008

September 29th, 2008 Hayden Carruth, born in Waterbury, Conn., died at his home in Munnsville, New York. Smartish Pace poet Brooks Haxton states that the cause of Carruth’s death was complications from…

Smartish Pace

Frank Stanford Literary Festival

By pwsadmin | September 28, 2008

September 28th, 2008 Fayetteville, ArkansasOctober 17th – 19thFrankstandford Festival

Smartish Pace

Robert Pinsky Wins Roethke Prize

By pwsadmin | September 3, 2008

September 3rd, 2008 Former U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Pinsky won the 11th Triennial Theodore Roethke Memorial Poetry Prize. Pinsky, 67 of Newton Corner, MA, was chosen by a three-judge panel…

Smartish Pace

Happy Birthday, John

By pwsadmin | August 19, 2008

August 19th, 2008 John Milton turns 400 today!

Smartish Pace

Apostrophe Cast Celebrates One Year

By pwsadmin | August 13, 2008

August 13th, 2008 Congratulations to Apostrophe Cast ( for churning out 26 episodes over the past year. (Past episodes have features SP poets, Daniel Groves and Cecily Parks.) Number 27,…

Smartish Pace

Mahmoud Darwish Dies at 67

By pwsadmin | August 13, 2008

August 13th, 2008 Mahmoud Darwish, widely considered Palestine’s national poet, died on August 9 of complications due to heart surgery. A prolific writer of prose, lyrics, and poetry, he wrote…

Smartish Pace

Ron Tanner Elected AWP President

By pwsadmin | August 1, 2008

August 1st, 2008 Baltimore writer Ron Tanner is the new president of the Association of Writers and Writing Programs (AWP), which represents over 28,000 writers, 400 writing programs, and 128…

Smartish Pace

Kay Ryan Next U.S. Poet Laureate

By pwsadmin | July 13, 2008

July 13th, 2008 Kay Ryan will begin her term as U.S. Poet Laureate on October 16, 2008. She will replace Charles Simic and receive a salary of $35,000. Ryan is…

Smartish Pace

SP’s Best New Poets Nominations

By pwsadmin | April 15, 2008

April 15th, 2008 Smartish Pace nominated Amber L. Cohen and Bro. Yao for Best New Poets ( In 2007 we nominated Carey McHugh and Sally Smits.