Poetry Foundation Announces Winner of the 2015 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism

May 28th, 2015

Mark Ford’s This Dialogue of One: Essays on Poets from John Donne to Joan Murray, published in 2014 from Eyewear Publishing, is awarded the annual $7,500 Pegasus Award for Poetry Criticism. 


Breathturn into Timestead:The Collected Later Poetry,by Paul Celan, translated and edited by Pierre Joris. (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
James Merrill: Life and Art, by Langdon Hammer. (Knopf)
Mahmoud Darwish: The Poet’s Art and His Nation, by Khaled Mattawa. (Syracuse University Press)
The Racial Imaginary: Writers on Race in the Life of the Mind, edited by Claudia Rankine, Beth Loffreda, and Max King Cap. (Fence Books)
Where Have You Been? Selected Essays, by Michael Hofmann. (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)

Honorable Mentions:

Angels of the Americlypse: An Anthology of New Latin@ Writing, edited by Carmen Giménez Smith and John Chávez. (Counterpath Press)
Lost & Found: The CUNY Poetics Document Initiative, Series. (Center for the Humanities, the Graduate Center, the City University of New York)
Selected Letters of Langston Hughes,edited by Arnold Rampersad and David Roessel with Christa Fratantoro. (Knopf)
The Art of Daring: Risk, Restlessness, Imagination, by Carl Phillips. (Graywolf Press)
Metaphor, by Denis Donoghue. (Harvard University Press)

Smartish Pace has published two of those listed: Khaled Mattawa and Carl Phillips.

Smartish Pace
Smartish Pace